Skip to content

Monogram Club Turns 100: Women’s Tennis

Dec 8, 2016, 4:17 PM EDT

Michelle Dasso (‘01) is the women's tennis program’s only four-time recipient of the Monogram Club Team MVP Award (1998-01). Dasso is pictured here with Father Jim Riehle ('49, honorary), the longtime executive director of the Monogram Club, former Monogram Club president Mike Heaton ('68, '71, football & golf) and women's tennis head coach Jay Louderback (honorary).

As part of the Monogram Club’s ongoing 100th anniversary celebration, some of the Club’s many connections to each Notre Dame program have been highlighted.

This latest installment of the “Monogram Club Turns 100” series looks at how the Monogram Club and the Fighting Irish women’s tennis program have been connected throughout the years.

Women’s Tennis Monogram Moments

The Notre Dame women’s tennis program gained varsity status in 1976. Tennis and fencing were the first female varsity sports at Notre Dame.



Notre Dame’s first varsity women’s tennis team.

“When Moose Krause awarded my Monogram I was filled with great pride and a feeling of connection with prior and future Notre Dame Monogram winners. In fact, I could always reach back to my Notre Dame athletic experiences when faced with challenges to give me courage, endurance, or the discipline or conviction to carry on. It was as if I stood on the shoulders of all the Monogram winners before me. Thank you Notre Dame for the enormous privilege of wearing the ND.” – Jane Lammers (’77, tennis)


Three women’s tennis alumnae – Laura Lee Williams (’85), Christy Faustmann (’94) and Terri Vitale (’94, ’95) – have served on the Monogram Club board of directors.


Terri Vitale (’94, ’95, tennis) currently is the 1st Vice President of the Monogram Club. She will serve as Club president from 2017-19.



Laura Lee Williams (‘85), an All-American during her playing days with the Fighting Irish, served on the Monogram Club board of directors from 1996-99.



Christy Faustmann (’94) was a director on the Monogram Club board from 1998-2001 before serving as the Club’s secretary for two years.




Jay Louderback, head coach of the women’s tennis program since 1989, received an honorary Monogram in 1998.



Sharon Petro, Fighting Irish women’s tennis head coach from 1977-78 and again from 1980-85, became an honorary member of the Monogram Club in 2007. Petro also spent time in the athletics department administration at Notre Dame.



Cosmina Ciobanu (’10) received the Monogram Club Postgraduate Scholarship in 2010. The Monogram Club annually awards a $5,000 grant to one male and one female graduating student-athlete.




Former women’s tennis student-athlete Alaina Roberts (’16) currently is an intern on the Monogram Club staff.


B1G Men's Golf Championship

Monica Robinson (’17) has been involved with the Monogram Career Network (MCN), which is a networking program that connects current Notre Dame student-athletes with Monogram winners and other supporters of the Monogram Club.



Monogram Club 1st Vice President Terri Vitale ’94, ’95 (gold hat) with fellow tennis Monogram winners Catrina Thompson ’07, a current Fighting Irish women’s tennis assistant coach, (far left), Mary Closs ’17 (white hat) and Monica Robinson ’17 (blue hat) in November 2016 at the Dick Vitale Intercollegiate Clay Court Championships.



Women’s tennis first-time Monogram winners Rachel Chong (’19) and Brooke Broda (’18) at this fall’s Monogram Jacket Ceremony.






Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Monogram Club on Twitter