Skip to content

Monogram Memories from Jordy Shoemaker (’12, lacrosse)

Mar 18, 2016, 4:15 PM EST

As the Monogram Club celebrates its 100th anniversary throughout the 2016 calendar year the Club wants to hear from its members about their greatest Monogram memories. Tell the Club why you’re proud to be a Monogram winner and a member of the Monogram Club!

CLICK HERE TO SHARE YOUR MEMORIES

The following is from Jordy Shoemaker (’12, lacrosse). Jordy is a three-time Monogram winner who served as a team captain during her senior season.

———-

My class of 2012 teammates are without a doubt one of the best parts of attending Notre Dame. I was incredibly fortunate to come in with an amazing group of girls who quickly became my family. As a recruit, you hear a lot about this “Notre Dame Family” and you’re not quite sure what to make of it. Once you get on campus and you get into the swing of things… the hectic schedule of classes, practices, lifts, film, team meetings, traveling for games, exams, group projects, study hall, and everything else the student-athlete life consists of, you realize what an invaluable lifeline your teammates are. They understand you. They push you. They support you.

Our experiences at ND bonded us together for life. To this day, we remain in incredibly close contact with each other, talking almost every day and constantly planning reunions. Aside from my class, I was fortunate to be surrounded by an incredible network of people including my teammates, their families, our coaches, our support staff, and other ND athletes.

 

Class of 2012

Notre Dame women’s lacrosse class of 2012 (left to right): Kristin DeRespiris, Flannery Nangle, Kate Newall, Kelly Driscoll, Jordy Shoemaker, Maggie Tamasitis, Megan Sullivan

When my father, Bryan, was diagnosed with terminal cancer the summer going into my sophomore year, my teammates, their families, my coaches, and our support staff rallied behind us. This support continued throughout his entire fight against cancer, and still continues even after his passing in April of 2014. One of my family’s most treasured moments involves my team surprising my father and I by wearing orange ribbons (his favorite color) in support of him as he was finally well enough to make it to a game. Needless to say he and I both cried when we realized what they had done. These orange ribbons continued throughout my career, my friends received colored hair extensions for St. Baldricks, and the phrase “BELIEVE” became his slogan in his fight against cancer. You could see it written in black ink on my wrist for every game, in streamers in the locker room, or in block letters at our senior house. When he passed away, girls I had never even had the pleasure of playing with wrote “BS” on their legs, wore orange ribbons, and wrote believe in the locker room, which speaks to the strength of the ND lacrosse family.

Believe

Other special memories include:

– Receiving my Monogram jacket, ring and blanket

LJC

 

– My first collegiate goal (my dad was in attendance and I was wearing an orange ribbon)

Orange ribbon

 

– Wearing green for big-time games

green jersey

 

– Double-overtime win against Georgetown and rushing the field

Georgetown win

 

– Winning the Big East

Big East champs

 

– The O.S.C.A.R.S

OSCARS.png

 

– Just putting on a jersey, looking down and realizing I am lucky enough to represent the Irish

jersey

 

– Playing games in the Boston area where I am from

road game

 

– Traveling around the country getting amazing experiences along the way thanks to the Monogram Club (e.g. Disney World, Palm Beach, Lion King on Broadway in NYC)

Disney

 

– Senior day

Senior Day

 

– Graduation

Graduation Day-Haley

Graduation Day-Father John

 

– Meeting Charlie Weis and getting to wear his Patriots Super Bowl ring! (I’m from MA so this was great!)

Super Bowl ring

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Monogram Club on Twitter