Skip to content

Monogram Club Turns 100: Men’s Basketball

Feb 10, 2016, 1:01 PM EDT

Former Irish star Matt Carroll ('03) was the keynote speaker at this fall's letter jacket ceremony.


As part of the Monogram Club’s ongoing 100th anniversary celebration, some of the Club’s many connections to each Notre Dame program will be highlighted. This latest installment of the “Monogram Club Turns 100” series looks at how the Monogram Club and the Fighting Irish men’s basketball program have been connected throughout the years.

Men’s Basketball Monogram Moments

– The men’s basketball program gained varsity status at Notre Dame in 1897.


Jesse Harper

Monogram Club founder Jesse Harper was the Notre Dame basketball coach from 1913-18. He posted a 44-20 record in those five seasons. Harper also coached football and baseball at Notre Dame along with being the director of athletics.

1. Pat Garrity

Former Fighting Irish All-American and 10-year NBA veteran Pat Garrity (‘98) currently serves as treasurer of the Monogram Club. Garrity is the fifth-leading scorer in Notre Dame history (2,085 points).

2. Marc Kelly

Marc Kelly (’82) is one of 12 men’s basketball Monogram winners to have served as president of the Monogram Club. Kelly was Club president from 2007-09.

Monogram Club Presidents Who Are Men’s Basketball Monogram Winners
1929 – Clarence Donovan (’31, basketball)
1936 – Jack Meehan (’20, basketball/track and field)
1937 – Paul Nowak (’38, basketball)
1944 – Roger Kiley (’23, football/basketball/baseball)
1946 – Joe Brandy (’21, football/basketball)
1950 – Bill Sheehan (’49, basketball/baseball)
1964 – Leo Barnhorst (’49, basketball)
1971 – Leo Klier (’46, basketball)
1973-74 – Bill Hassett (’47, basketball/baseball)
1989-90 – Martin O’Connor (’51, basketball)
1993-94 – Jack Stephens (’55, football/basketball)
2007-09 – Marc Kelly (’82 basketball)


4. Ray Meyer

Former Notre Dame men’s basketball player – and legendary DePaul head coach – Ray Meyer (‘38) was the Monogram Club’s first Moose Krause Distinguished Service Award recipient as he was presented the honor in 1979. Since then, six other men’s basketball Monogram winners have earned the Moose Krause Distinguished Service Award, which is the highest honor bestowed by the Monogram Club.

Men’s Basketball Monogram Winners Who Received The Moose Krause Distinguished Service Award
Ray Meyer (’38) – 1979
Moose Krause (’34) – 1981
Rev. John Smyth (’57) – 1985
Leo Barnhorst (’49) – 1989
Bill Hassett (’47) – 1989
Dick Rosenthal (’54) – 1995
Monk Malloy (’63, ’67, ’69) – 2005

6. Jerian-Haley-Pat

Then Monogram Club president Haley Scott DeMaria (’95, swimming) presented the men’s basketball Monogram Club Team MVP Award to Jerian Grant and Pat Connaughton at last season’s awards banquet. The Monogram Club sponsors the team MVP award for every Fighting Irish program.

Andree collage

Tim Andree Jr. (’10) (right) was awarded the Monogram Club’s Postgraduate Scholarship in 2010. He and his father, Tim Andree Sr. (’83) (left), both are four-time Monogram winners.

MBB 2015 LJC

The men’s basketball program’s first-time Monogram winners are honored each fall at the Club’s letter jacket ceremony.

MBB-LJC speakers

Men’s basketball Monogram winners Matt Carroll (‘03), Brooks Boyer (‘94) and Scott Paddock (‘90) have been the keynote speaker at the Monogram Club’s letter jacket ceremony.

graduation stoles

In 2014 the Monogram Club and the Notre Dame athletics department began issuing commencement stoles to graduating student-athletes and student support staff. Jerian Grant and Pat Connaughton proudly displayed theirs during last May’s commencement exercises.


Notre Dame assistant coach Martin Ingelsby (’01) (right) and coordinator of basketball operations Harold Swanagan (’02) (left) both earned four Monograms during their playing days. Fighting Irish head coach Mike Brey (honorary) and video coordinator Pat Rogers (’10, manager) also are Monogram winners.

MBB at Hard Rock-4

The Monogram Club hosted a lunch at the Hard Rock Café in Chicago this summer for the Fighting Alumni prior to their “The Basketball Tournament” opener.

Coordinator of basketball operations Harold Swanagan (’02) spoke at the Monogram Club’s pregame reception prior to this fall’s Notre Dame-USC football showdown.


Digger Phelps received an honorary Monogram in 1982. Phelps was the Fighting Irish head coach from 1971-91 and holds the program record for wins (393).

Jack Nolan honorary

Jack Nolan, the longtime voice of Fighting Irish men’s basketball, received an honorary Monogram in 2013. Former Monogram Club president Dick Nussbaum (’74, ’77 baseball) and Fighting Irish head coach Mike Brey (honorary) surprised Nolan with the recognition at the team’s awards banquet.


Skip Meyer, the athletic trainer for the Fighting Irish men’s basketball team since 1979, received an honorary Monogram in 2003.




Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Monogram Club on Twitter