Skip to content

ND Alumni Squad Wins Inaugural “The Basketball Tournament”

Jun 28, 2014, 9:27 PM EDT

A team of Notre Dame basketball Monogram winners took home a $500,000 prize on Saturday evening, winning the inaugural “The Basketball Tournament,” by defeating Team Barstool, 72-68, at Boston University’s Case Gymnasium.

The “Notre Dame Fighting Alumni” breezed through the first four games of the tourney earlier this month, before a hard-fought upset of the top-seeded Barstool team playing in front of its hometown crowd.

The Irish roster included Tory Jackson (’10), Ty Nash (’11), Rob Kurz (’08), Chris Thomas (’05), Zach Hillesland (’09), Russell Carter (’07), Torin Francis (’06), Colin Falls (’07) and Ryan Ayers (’09). Paul Gause, a former Seton Hall guard, was also part of the team, which was coached by Kieran Piller (’07, ’10) and Jordan Cornette (’05).

Nash led the charge with 19 points, while Ayers (15) and Kurz (11) also scored in double figures.

Notre Dame head coach Mike Brey made the trip to Beantown to support his former student-athletes, and joined the ESPN3 broadcast for a few minutes during the first half. The team has pledged to donate a portion of the $500,000 prize to Coaches vs. Cancer, an organization that Brey has been involved with since his his time at Delaware.

A few other Irish alums were in the building, including Luke Harangody (’10) and Tim Abromaitis (’10, ’11), who were shown frequently during the broadcast. Many others took to Twitter to congratulate their fellow former hoopers (see below).

While there’s no word yet on next year’s tournament, it’s safe to bet the Irish will hungry to defend their title, and it will be exciting to see if any other former Notre Dame stars join the squad in 2015.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Monogram Club on Twitter