Skip to content

31-24

Nov 13, 2013, 3:11 PM EDT

For anyone who was in Notre Dame Stadium 20 years ago today, you know that score. It lives eternally on my sons’ bunk beds as a reminder of a game our children have heard us talk about often. “Best football game I have ever attended,” is my usual comment.

My husband was a junior football manager that year, so he saw the game from the field. I, on the other hand, was jammed into the stadium with about 70,000 other people. Yes, 70,000, and this was before the stadium renovation when Notre Dame Stadium only held about 60,000. Okay, so maybe that’s an exaggeration, but if you were there, you know how crowded it was.

But it didn’t matter. We won.

The entire week was as electric as the game. Reporters crawled all over campus. It was heralded “The Game of the Century.” I remember once riding my bike to swim practice and not being able to ride past the stadium because of the crowds…on Wednesday. This happened all the time on game days, but never during the week. This game was different.

So different in fact, that ESPN’s College GameDay came to South Bend. What? Big deal, it happens all the time. Nope. Prior to this day, 20 years ago, GameDay stayed in the studio. On campus, Heritage Hall became their studio. It seems fitting that the first GameDay to go on the road, came to South Bend to see one of Notre Dame’s most legendary games.

Best football game I’ve ever attended. And I’m pretty sure most of the other fans in the stadium would say the same thing.

source:

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Monogram Club on Twitter