Skip to content

Monty Williams (’93) Joins USA Basketball Staff

Jun 10, 2013, 3:47 PM EST

Monty Williams ('93) as featured in Strong of Heart - photo by Layne Murdoch

Former Irish basketball standout Monty Williams (’93) was announced as a USA Basketball Men’s National Team assistant coaches for 2013-16 by USA Basketball Chairman Jerry Colangelo on Monday.

Williams, who is currently the head coach of the NBA’s New Orleans Pelicans (recently re-branded from the Hornets), will join Jim Boeheim (Syracuse University) and Tom Thibodeau (Chicago Bulls) on Mike Krzyzewski’s bench. Coach K has led team USA to gold medals in each of the past two Olympic Games (2008 Beijing, 2012 London).

“I want to thank Mr. Colangelo for his confidence in me and I am truly honored and looking forward to working on Coach K’s staff,” Williams said in a press release. “For me to be involved as an assistant coach for USA Basketball where I can represent my country is a privilege and the ultimate honor. I was fortunate back in the early 90’s to be on the USA 22-and-under roster where we won the gold medal in Spain. and I felt a tremendous amount of pride. With this honor, I feel the same sense of pride again for my country, but I also want to make the Benson’s, Pelican organization, New Orleans community and my family proud.”

The staff will begin working with the team in late July for a mini-camp in Las Vegas. To read more about Monty’s new gig, click the link in the @usabasketball tweet below. While you’re at it, scroll to the bottom of this post to watch the Strong of Heart feature that debuted on NBC Sports Network earlier this spring.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Monogram Club on Twitter