Skip to content

Riehle Open, Really?

Jun 1, 2013, 9:33 AM EST

On Friday, May 31, I played in the Monogram Club’s annual golf outing, the Riehle Open, named after longtime Monogram Club Executive Director, the late Father Riehle. Father Riehle was certainly present on the Warren Golf Course, as we were expected to be doused with rain and thunderstorms, and yet not a drop fell. Oh how Father Riehle would have loved to welcome the Monogram Club’s second female president to his golf outing!

As a swimmer, I did my best to stay out of the water on the golf course. This is not an easy task for someone who takes the word “annual” literally; I only play golf once a year. And yet, the angst I felt leading up to the event (“Can I even make it 18 holes?”) disappeared as quickly as a lost ball in the rough. Even among a group of competitive athletes, it’s all just about having fun.

My foursome consisted of a manager from the 1960s, a baseball player from the 1970s, myself (a swimmer from the 1990s) and our ringer: a graduate from the 2000s. This is exactly what the Monogram Club’s golf outing – and all our events – are about: the coming together of Club members from across the decades.

We didn’t win any of the prizes Reggie Brooks passed out: golf bags, adidas gift cards, but all 70+ golfers left with a photograph of their foursome with women’s basketball coach Muffet McGraw (thanks, Coach!) and a cool swag bag. But most of all I left looking forward to playing in the Riehle Open next year, and perhaps thoughts of swinging a club sometime between now and then.

source:

Our foursome with Irish women’s basketball head coach Muffet McGraw.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Monogram Club on Twitter